Keep On Running

So I have been running 3-6 miles 4 times a week since my last post.  The weather here in Ohio has been a little crazy.  On the coldest day two weeks ago I tried running on a treadmill in a fitness gym near the hotel I was staying.  Why is running on a treadmill so hard?  I just can’t seem to get the miles in on them.  I tried all the tricks, cover the numbers set a program that will control the pace and then I can focus my attention on other things.  Nothing worked,  only made it 2.5 miles before I was os board I couldn’t take it and walked away.  Two days later in a different town, I used the treadmill in the hotel gym and I was only slightly more successful, 3 miles.

My conclusion is I can’t focus on the act of running and having an audience is an issue.  Outside there is a sense of getting somewhere, the distance is easier as you can see the light at the end of the tunnel per say..   Having people around me that are doing other things or even running seems to distract me from running, I just want to leave and hide.  I am wondering if this will be an issue in the race?  People will be everywhere, I will need to learn to focus.

On the good side it was 60 degrees here on Christmas and I was able to complete my long run of 6 miles.  I finished feeling good, like I could have ran a few more.  Todays short run was not as good, only 2.5 miles and at the end I was cramping and felt like I was dragging my fee the last mile.  I think it was due to the holidays, sitting so much and just relaxing.

Lack of stretching and weight training is starting to show as well, I am going to need to add this to the mix in 2017.  For some reason I can go out and run 6 mile but to do 25 setup the world feels like it will end.  I really find no enjoyment in weight training, as I did many years ago.  I guess once I see some results, I will enjoy way more as that seems to be the way I operate.  I am a results driven girl.  So I am on the lookout for a good weight training program for runners, need something that will tighten up my core as I am very weak in this area and to see some results here would help me leaps and bounds…

Please feel free to let me know if you have a good plan that works for you that you would like to share.  I am also going to try to blog after every run, I stress try..  I am pretty busy and to find time to sit and reflect is very helpful it is not as easy as it sounds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

